5 C
New York
Saturday, March 2, 2024

Porsche 963 of Porsche Penske Motorsports wins 2024 24 Hours of Daytona

Porsche kicked off the 2024 IMSA SportsCar Championship with a document nineteenth win on the 24 Hours of Daytona, additionally commercially often known as the Rolex 24 At Daytona.

The successful automotive was the No. 7 Porsche 963 of Porsche Penske Motorsports, pushed by Felipe Nasr, Dane Cameron, Matt Campbell, and 2023 Indianapolis 500 winner Josef Newgarden.

This was Porsche’s first general Daytona win since 2003 and the primary for the 963, which was Porsche’s entry within the revived GTP (Grand Touring Prototype) class that debuted for 2023. After 15 warning durations, the 24-hour race was determined within the closing 32 minutes with a duel between the No. 7 Porsche and the No. 31 Cadillac V-Collection.R group consisting of Pipo Derani, Jack Aitken, and Tom Blomqvist, which completed second.

2024 24 Hours of Daytona

2024 24 Hours of Daytona

The ultimate step on the rostrum was taken by Jordan Taylor, Louis Deletraz, Colton Herta, and 2009 Components 1 champion Jenson Button within the No. 40 Acura ARX-06 of Wayne Taylor Racing.

Shifting down the courses, the No. 18 Oreca LMP2 07 of Period Motorsports completed ninth general, taking the LMP2 crown with drivers Dwight Merriman, Ryan Dalziel, Connor Zilisch, and Christian Rasmussen.

The massive story within the GT production-based courses was the debut of the Ford Mustang GT3, however it had difficulties of the factory-backed vehicles entered within the race. The No. 65 failed to complete whereas the No. 64 completed seven laps down, sixth within the GTD Professional class.

2024 24 Hours of Daytona

2024 24 Hours of Daytona

The GTD Professional win went to the No. 62 Ferrari 296 GT3 of privateer group Risi Competizione, pushed by Daniel Serra, Davide Rigon, Alessandro Pier Guidi, and James Calado. It was the primary Daytona class win for the stalwart group, which has been competing in sports activities automotive racing since 1998.

Within the GTD class, Daniel Morad, Philip Ellis, Russell Ward, and Indy Dontje took the category win within the No. 57 Winward Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3.

The 2024 IMSA season continues Mar. 13 with the 12 Hours of Sebring.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles